Restoration of COVID Travel Ban, As Expected

The Biden administration today restored, by executive order, the COVID-related travel ban for individuals physically present in the Schengen Area of Europe, the United Kingdom (excluding overseas territories outside of Europe), the Republic of Ireland, and the Republic of Brazil in the 14 days before attempting to enter the US.  The administration has now added South Africa to the list of countries subject to the ban on account of the new strain of the virus developing there.

The Trump regime, having implemented the ban initially, withdraw it in the last days of its administration for little apparent reason other than to force the incoming Biden administration.  As a practical matter, this means the current situation with regard to travel from these countries continues as it was, with the bluster over withdrawal of the ban by the last administration amounting to nothing.