Administration removes November COVID Entry Restrictions for Africa

On December 28, the Biden Administration issued an executive order reversing its November 26 executive order imposing US entry restrictions on noncitizens who had been present in eight African nations – the Republic of Botswana, the Kingdom of Eswatini, the Kingdom of Lesotho, the Republic of Malawi, the Republic of Mozambique, the Republic of Namibia, the Republic of South Africa, and the Republic of Zimbabwe – within the 14-day period before the attempt to enter the US. preceding their entry or attempted entry into the United States. The President stated that based upon further CDC recommendations and additional information about the Omicron variant of COVID, the limited restriction could no longer be justified.